2018 Pierce Arrow XT Engine
- 1500 GPM
- 500 Gallons
Engine 12 History
On July 1, 1897 Engine Company No. 12 was placed in service at 1626 North Capitol Street with an 1884 Clapp & Jones 450 GPM steam fire engine and an 1887 E. B. Preston hose reel carriage.
On December 9, 1925 the First Battalion Chief moved to the quarters of Engine Company No. 12.
On April 30, 1987 the HazMat Unit, Engine Company No. 12 and the First Battalion Chief moved to new quarters at 2225 5th Street N.E.
Today, Engine Company No. 12 proudly serves the Eckington and Edgewood neighborhoods and the surrounding areas of Northeast Washington, DC. Their Local Alarm Area is diverse, encompassing several rowhouses, garden apartments, mixed-use occupancies, and commercial warehouses.
Engine Company No. 12 primarily responds to alarms with the First Battalion and Second Battalion Chiefs. They frequently work alongside Engine Companies 4, 6, 10, 14, 17, and 26.





Leave a comment